Let’s Discuss: Book Series

lets discuss logo1Book series. How do you feel about them? Do you enjoy when you’re reading a book, and you find out that there is either already another book out there next in the series, or there is going to be in the future? Or do you prefer stand alone titles where you can read it, and be done with the characters and their story lines?

Personally, I think it depends on the book itself, and its characters. If it is a book that I did not enjoy, or a book that was poorly written, then I would either not read the rest of the books in the series, or be glad there aren’t anymore. Which, that brings me to my next question. If you read a book that is apart of a series, but you did not care for it much, would you still read the rest of the books in the series, or just move on? Again, for myself, I think it would just depend from book to book.

Recently I attended my local public library’s book sale, where I came across a book called Dangerously Alice by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor, and picked it up off of my book shelf to start reading today. When I first got the book, I read most of the inside flap to see what it was about, but not all of it. On Friday when I picked it off of my book shelf, I read it all (after reading a few pages) and realized it was apart of a series. This brings me to my next question, or thought. If you find out that a book is apart of a series, but isn’t the first one, would you still read it, or wait to get the first book? Anywho. So, here I am, reading the inside flap and I see that not only is this book apart of a series, but it says, “Funny, realistic, and always provocative, Phyllis Reynolds Naylor does it again, proving that she understands what girls think, and feel with this twenty-second book in the beloved Alice series”. Wait, what!? TWENTY-SECOND BOOK!? At this point not only was I surprised it was in a series (what do you call a bunch of books about one person, character, etc. that is more than like, 5 books. Is that still a series?), but there were 22 other books? After reading that, I decided to do some research. After using good ole Google, I learned that Naylor has 34 books in this series. Yes. 34. And, I also learned that I had another one of the beloved Alice books on my bookshelf, unread, and didn’t even realize it. This left me thinking, do I continue to read this book, Dangerously Alice, as well as the other book I have, completely out of the rank of series, or do I try and read the 20 some other books before it?

In this circumstance, what would you do? I am seriously struggling here, guys! I want to keep reading it, because it seems as though you don’t have to read the books in order to understand this particular book, but at the same time, it’s apart of a series. What do I do!?

Please help. Please comment on what you would do. Because I am seriously struggling with this, haha!

One final thing about this discussion. How many books in one series is too much? Without doing a bunch of research, I know of two authors, Naylor and Janet Evanovich who have series with more than 20 books in them. Evanovich will be up to her 24th book in her Stephanie Plum series very soon. That isn’t including the few Stephanie Plum While I absolutely LOVE her Stephanie Plum series and I will continue to read as many as she publishes, is there a time when you think enough is enough in a series?

Leave your comments on all of the questions asked, and your thoughts and opinions on the topic of book series. I look forward to finding out how you feel!

Leave a Reply

